Literary Prize “Arthur Lundquist” 2016

The eminent Bulgarian scholar, linguist Professor Petar Pashov, was awarded posthumously with the International Bulgarian-Swedish Prize for excellence in Literature “Arthur Lundquist” for 2016. This is the decision of the jury, whose chairman, on the proposal of Arthur Lundquist, is Prof. DScVera Gancheva, and members: Antoaneta Prikatarova-Milcheva, Prof. Dr. Boris Parashkevov, Prof. DSc Boyan Byolchev. On 6 December 2016 in Hall 8 of the National Palace of Culture, H.E. the Ambassador of the Kingdom of Sweden, Louise Bergholm, and the Executive Director of the Fund, Mitko Todorov, handed the honorary diploma to the wife of Prof. Petar Pashov – Maria Pashova.

The Bulgarian-Swedish literary prize “Arthur Lundquist” was established with means obtained by the great Swedish poet and writer Arthur Lundquist (1906 – 1991) and his wife, poet Maria Vine (1912 – 2003). The Prize encourages the spiritual exchange between Bulgaria and Sweden in the field of culture. It was provided every two years from 1988 to 2016 jointly by NEF “13 Centuries Bulgaria “, Sofia University “St. Kliment Ohridsku” and the Swedish Embassy in Bulgaria. In 2016, The “Arthur Lundquist” Award depleted its institutional objectives and financial resources.

Winners for the award from 1988 to 2016:

Rogier Yulin, Sweden (1988)

Antoaneta Primatarova-Milcheva, Bulgaria (1990)

Ula Rosen, Sweden (1992)

Theodora Dzbarova, Bulgaria (1994)

Arne Hult, Sweden (1996)

Vasa Gancheva, Bulgaria (1998) Beau Lundgren, Sweden (2000)

Meglena Bodenska, Bulgaria (2002)

Karl Fredrik Gilday, Sweden (2004)

Svetla Stoilova, Bulgaria (2006)

Charlotte Alaquist-Ruth, Sweden (2008)

Yordan Simeonov, Kiril Kadiyski, Bulgaria (2011)

Birgitta Englund-Dimitrova, Sweden (2013)

Professor Petar Pashov (1931 – 2009), Bulgaria (2016)