The 2022 Rashko Sugarev Prize


The ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ National Endowment Fund announces this year’s Rashko Sugarev Literary Prize Competition for the best published short story by an author up to 35 years of age. The award was established in honour of writer Rashko Sugarev (1941–1995), a master of the short-story genre.


The award ceremony will take place on 23 April—World Book, Copyright and Readers’ Day. NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ will organise the competition and provide the prize fund.


The jury is composed of the famous Bulgarian writers Dimitar Korudzhiev (Chair), Georgi Velichkov, Deyan Enev and Theodora Dimova.


The jury will select three winners, while the Executive Director of NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ will announce their names and award the prizes:

First prize: honorary diploma and a cash award of BGN 700;

Second prize: honorary diploma and a cash award of BGN 500;

Third prize: honorary diploma and a cash award of BGN 400.


The Rashko Sugarev Prize is an integral feature of the active policy of NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ to support young people; over the past twenty-four years, more than 75 authors have been awarded, including already established names such as Alek Popov, Georgi Gospodinov, Yordan Eftimov, Angel Igov, Boris Minkov, Olya Stoyanova, Silvia Tomova, Andon Staykov, Alexander Shpatov, Anton Terziev, Vladimir Poleganov, Yanitsa Radeva, Rosen Karamfilov, and Yordan D. Radichkov.


Works should be submitted in 5 paper copies, along with information on where and when they were published, a short CV and a contact phone number, to the following address:

Attn: Rashko Sugarev Competition

NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’

1, Prof. Vasil Gerov Sq., Lozenets Qt.

Sofia 1421


For further information:

+359 (0)896 239 942

Ivan Stefanov, Publishing Projects expert

Deadline: 31 March 2022