The 2022 Rashko Sugarev National Short Story Competition award ceremony takes place in the Prof. Vasil Gerov Hall of NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’

In 2022, NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ is organising the Rashko Sugarev National Short Story Competition for the twenty-fifth time. Twelve authors of up to 35 years of age, expressing new quests in contemporary Bulgarian fiction, have entered the competition.


The jury, consisting of Dimitar Korudzhiev (Chair), Georgi Velichkov, Deyan Enev and Theodora Dimova, will select the winners of the First, Second and Third Prizes.


The award ceremony is to be held on 27 April, immediately after the Easter holidays, as its traditional presentation on 23 April—the World Book, Copyright and Readers’ Day—coincides with the holiday weekend.


The event will take place at 4 p.m., in the Prof. Vasil Gerov Hall, at the Fund’s headquarters, 1, Prof. Vasil Gerov Sq., Sofia.


Since 1997, over 70 young authors have received awards, including now-famous artists such as Alek Popov, Georgi Gospodinov, Yordan Eftimov, Angel Igov, Boris Minkov, Olya Stoyanova, Dimitar Ganev, Yordanka Beleva, Silvia Tomova, Vasil Georgiev, Andon Staykov, Alexander Shpatov, Anton Terziev, and Vladimir Poleganov.