The 2023 Rashko Sugarev Prize

In 2023, the ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ National Endowment Fund is holding the Rashko Sugarev Literary Prize Competition for the twenty-sixth time. Authors up to 35 years of age whose short stories have been published in the periodical press or in a book are eligible to apply.


The award was established in honour of writer Rashko Sugarev (1941–1995), a master of the short-story genre.


The award ceremony will take place on 23 April—World Book, Copyright and Readers’ Day. NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ will organise the competition and provide the prizes.


The jury is composed of the famous Bulgarian writers Dimitar Korudzhiev (Chair), Georgi Velichkov, Deyan Enev and Theodora Dimova.


They will select three winners, while the Executive Director of NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ will announce their names and present the awards.

First prize: honorary diploma and a cash award of BGN 700;

Second prize: honorary diploma and a cash award of BGN 500;

Third prize: honorary diploma and a cash award of BGN 400.


The Rashko Sugarev Prize is an integral feature of the active policy of NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ in supporting young people; over the past twenty-five years, more than 75 authors have been awarded, including already established names such as Alek Popov, Georgi Gospodinov, Yordan Eftimov, Angel Igov, Boris Minkov, Olya Stoyanova, Silvia Tomova, Andon Staykov, Alexander Shpatov, Anton Terziev, Vladimir Poleganov, Yanitsa Radeva, Rosen Karamfilov, and Yordan D. Radichkov.


Works should be submitted in 5 paper copies, giving information on where and when they were published, along with a short CV and contact phone number, to the following address:

Attn: Rashko Sugarev Competition

NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’

1, Prof. Vasil Gerov Sq., Lozenets Qtr.

Sofia 1421

For further information:

+359 (0)2 963 04 27

Deadline: 31 March 2023