The 2021 Rashko Sugarev National Competition for a Published Short Story

In 2021, NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’ will hold the Rashko Sugarev National Short Story Competition for the twenty-fourth time. The competition is open to authors up to 35 years old, whose story was published in a periodical or a book in 2020.


The jury, consisting of Dimitar Korudzhiev (Chair), Georgi Velichkov, Deyan Enev and Theodora Dimova, will select the winners of the First, Second and Third Prizes, and the respective diplomas and monetary prizes.


Since 1997, over 75 young writers have been awarded in the Rashko Sugarev Competition, including now-famous artists such as Alek Popov, Georgi Gospodinov, Yordan Eftimov, Angel Igov, Boris Minkov, Olya Stoyanova, Silvia Tomova, Andon Staykov, Alexander Shpatov, Anton Terziev, Vladimir Poleganov, Yanitsa Radeva, and Rosen Karamfilov.


The award ceremony is to be held on 23 April—the World Book, Copyright and Readers’ Day.


Works should be submitted in 5 paper copies, along with information on where and when they were published, a short CV and a telephone number, to the following address:


Sofia 1421

1, Prof. Vasil Gerov Sq., Lozenets Quarter

NEF ‘13 Centuries of Bulgaria’

Attn: the Rashko Sugarev Competition

For further information:

+359 (0)889 648 927


Deadline: 31 March 2021